Advanced Search


Term: Al-Magreb


Area of modern Morocco was Roman province of Mauretania; was successively invaded by Muslims, Berbers, Spain, Portugal, England & France 7th-20th cen.; split between French & Spanish Morocco until mid-20th cen.; West Sahara & Algerian borders disputed; official language is Arabic, though several Berber dialects & French are also spoken.