Advanced Search


Term: Tonga


Comprises over 150 islands; inhabited by Melanesians of lapita tradition 14th cen. BC; dominion extended as far as Hawaii by 13th cen. AD; visited by Dutch in 17th cen., British 18th cen.; civil wars 19th cen.; nation unified under King George Toupou I; official languages are Tongan & English, though other Polynesian languages are also spoken.


View all (3)
19th century
late 19th to early 20th century